Week 4: Doctrine of Eternal Marriage

With all the reading on marriage this week, it got this 20 something single women thinking. I know that marriage is not for everyone on this earth and some will be blessed with it in the next life. I hope that one day I will be able to find my eternal companion and have a great marriage for all eternity. For those who are reading this that are not members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, we believe that we do not just marry until death due us part, we believe that we are married for time and all eternity.

My parents divorced when I was very young, I was so young that I have no memory of the ever being married, and however I have their wedding album, and so I know that they were. I have been very blessed with two amazing stepparents, who have loved me as if I was there own child. Having two sets of parents has allowed me to see different sides of marriages throughout my life. I have been able to see the good, bad and ugly. Now that all my siblings are adults, both my brothers are married to amazing women. Having these marriages in my life has been able to show me what I want and do not want in my marriage.

Though I am the only member of the church in my family, I also feel that I have learned even more about marriage then the rest of my family knows. I know that when I get married, I would love to be married in the Holy Temple. Visiting the Temple should be a priority in all marriages. Couples should strive to go to the Temple as much as possible. Along with the visiting the Temple, couples should make prayer a priority. Being able to pray together, not only allows you to speak personally to Heavenly Father, but it allows you to hear what your partner is talking to Him about too. Prayer allows a married couple to be intimate in a very different way; it allows them to hear some of their best thoughts and worries.

Being able to have a strong covenant marriage, starts at home. If we treat our home, like a Temple, we will be able to keep the evil of temptation out of it. When we make sure that we treat our homes like a Temple, we are able to keep the Spirit strong in our marriages. When we are able to keep the Spirit strong in our marriages, we are able to deal with the temptations of the world. When we are able to have the Spirit with us we are able to stay on the boat while Satan is trying to knock us off of it.

I know that when I find my eternal companion, that if I do the above mentioned I will be able to have a great covenant marriage and not just a great contractual marriage. Marry is a very sacred convenient, that I hope one day I will be able to enjoy. For now I will continue my journey looking for the man that will become my eternal companion.

Leave a Reply

