Week 3: Defender of Marriage

As I sit here thinking about same-sex marriage, I never really understood how much actually went into this passing in government. In Canada, I went to bed one day with marriage being man/women, when I woke up marriage was between man/women, man/man and women/women. It was never as big of a deal as it was in the United States. From what I remember there was never any voting in our individual provinces, or really any news coverage about it, once it was done, that was it, anyone could get married. When this vote went through I was attending a Catholic high school and I remember many of my friends being very vocal about their unhappiness about the new law. For me I was not really sure how I felt about the law, I was confused on why same-sex couples wanted it to be called marriage, when I was taught that marriage was between a man and women. I understood why same-sex couples wanted the same rights as a married man and women, I mean who wouldn’t want those rights. Know that I understand Heavenly Father’s plan, I understand why same-sex marriage is not the proper way. Though I still feel that same-sex couples should have all the rights to be married and to all the same rights as a marriage between a man and woman.

After reading the Supreme Court document in Obergefell v. Hodges (2015) paper, I have a better understanding on why it took so long for this law to pass. I understand that there is so much to take into account. While going through this Justices Roberts spoke about how if the Government was to pass this law, what would stop those who practise polygamy, or people who want to marry animals, or those who want to marry their siblings from fighting to pass marriage laws for them. Justice Roberts made it clear that he did not want this to happen, as it would further hinder what marriage means. Justice Roberts also spoke about his concern about why this concern was coming to the Supreme Court. Justice Roberts states “But this Court is not a legislature. Whether same-sex marriage is a good idea should be of no concern to us. Under the Constitution, judges have power to say what the law is, not what it should be.” He understands that people want the law to chance but he does not think it should be left up to the judges of the Supreme Court to make this law. He also voices his concern that nowhere in the American Constitution does it state what marriage is; it is only in the bible that Heavenly Father states marriage is between a man and women.

Just like Justice Roberts I do not understand why people would want to change the definition of marriage. Marriage was given to Adam and Eve so that they could procreate and help replenish the Earth. Heavenly Father also gave Adam and Eve marriage so that they could help finish His Plan of Happiness. The Plan of Happiness allows marriage between a man and women to be sealed in the Temple and allows them to be sealed to their children, so that they may life in the eternities together with Heavenly Father.

As I continued to read through the Supreme Court papers my eyes were opened to how much went into passing this law, and how much was taken into account. The Supreme Court looked at all they could, though some where not very happy with the decision as they saw it as taking advantage of the Supreme Court, they do not think that it is proper for them to tell the entire nation what to believe. They thought it should be up to each individual state. Though I agree with this, that every state should have their own say on whether they want to allow same-sex marriage, though many people would have problems with this, I think it might have been the best way for America to go.

As a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, I hope that one day, people will be able to understand why marriage is important and why it should be between a man and women. I hope that people will be able to see that marriage is a powerful tool to help bring salvation to the world. Allowing nations to change the definition of marriage to help them fight into the world is not want Heavenly Father wants. As we continue to fight for what we believe in, we will continue to have people pushing back, we need to make sure that we stand a firm ground and hold on to our beliefs.

Leave a Reply

